Its been too long…


Oh my, it has been soooo long since I have updated the blog. Oops. Never mind. Anyway a lot has happened since last time. For example my garden is now more gardeny (you’ll see later) the allotment has gone wild (which you won’t see later – give me a few weeks!!). Elmwood Gardening Show was held and there is some news on the bees. So there is something for more or less everyone today. Firstly I would like to say a big thanks to all who have come to the gardening show. I hope you all enjoyed yourselves and that there was plenty for you all to do. This years activity was hapazome, a Japanese print making technique in which you place flowers or leaves onto a side of natural fabric, in our case bags. I got the idea after watching Alys Fowler’s the edible garden. If you would like to do this yourself it is in the show guide. I would like to attach this PDFwhich is my show guide, which you can print out if you want to if you didn’t manage to pick one up or just have a look through. Luckily the rain held off on the day until right at the end and even then it was only spitting a little bit. Below is few pics from the Gardening Show…

The Food Stand

My Great Nana making a fat ball for the birds

Next the garden in now more gardeny news. After my little tidy up, which was more like an operation, just saying 😉 I decided to elminate the veggie element from the borders at home and created bee border mark 3. I am still going to keep the tomatoes, cucumbers, peppers and chilli’s in the greenhouse as I can’t let them go, just can’t. The fruit along the fence have had a serious haircut, maybe a little too serious, but never mind. As another thing to prepare for the bees I am in the process of sorting out a mini wildflower meadow to put the beehouse in. It may look a bit bland at the moment however its moment is coming. Writing about bees, my bees will be arriving hopefully between March and June next year and it looks like it is going to be an interesting affair.

Like I wrote, a serious haircut...

Bee Border Mark 3. We've moved into the raised bed

The remnants of bee border mark 2 but the beginnings of the wildflower meadow

Only the greenhouse left to tidy. YAY 🙂

My Tea Tree Oil Plant from harrogate!!!!

I hope the slugs don't get my chocolate daisy's

Newly planted patio pots

Cyclamen by the Greenhouse

Also I have been to the Harrogate Autumn Flower Show. I think it has been my favourite of the shows I have been to this year. I think it was because it wasn’t that busy and it was full of lots of interesting and unusual things. Here are a few photos from the marquees.

I’m not going to really mention the allotment in this post but in the next post there will probably be a lot more to show you.

Finally could anybody help me with identifying this moth or butterfly. It was on my sedum at the beginning of September. Anyway thats really all that has happened since last time. I hope to see you all later.

Anthony

15 thoughts on “Its been too long…

  1. Hi Anthony – its nice to see someone your age so keen about horticulture. Are you hoping to make a career of it?

    • Thank you! I am looking to make a career out of it. I was thinking of setting up my own self sustaining nursery, like with all the plants grown on site etc

  2. that sounds a great idea. If you visit this website http://www.blotanical.com/ you will find 1000s of gardening blogs from all around the world which will give you a wealth of knowledge. You just have to find one that appeal to you. Blogging is a good way to make contacts that might help with your career

  3. Hello!

    I love that you roped your nan into your show. It looks like you all had fun. Good luck with the bee border. They are all over the Alyssum at the moment in my garden. It smells deeply on honey, so I’m not surprised that they are addicted!
    Best wishes

    Alys Fowler

    • Thank you, my bee border should hopefully be in its final place now and all I need to do now is make the wildflower meadow. I think I may get an Alyssum, it sounds very nice!

  4. Wow, you have so much going on in your garden Anthony! I love the idea of the bee border. Choosing plants to attract bees and butterflies is something I’ve been working on this year too. I love the patio pots you planted up and the pictures of the cyclamen. How dainty they are!

  5. hi anthony just read your update like the pics of the flowers from show didnt we have a good day? looking forward to next years show what will you dream up for us strawberries on allotment going mad must get some planted before its to late love nana xxxxx

Leave a Reply

